Baking Is A Piece Of (Birthday) Cake

6 Dec

I’ve been so busy the past few months that I missed the entire series of Master Chef Junior. I’ve heard a lot about the talented young kids cooking up a storm and the enthusiasm the show has spread is amazing. Children are spending more and more time playing with technology so it’s important to get back to basics and where better than in the kitchen. My girlfriend’s 3 year old son loves Master Chef and pretends to make cakes when he’s not helping his mum brush the egg wash on pastries.

It was my cousin Emily’s birthday recently and I was stunned to see the cake she so proudly made herself. Emily shared her iced, 3 layer, cherry topped cake with our families and we had an afternoon garden tea party before she headed to Zumba classes.

Emily’s cake looked and tasted fantastic and she is already thinking about her next baking project.

Food is the centre piece of many of my favourite childhood memories and still brings me so much pleasure today. Learning to cook from a young age is beautiful; it leads to an adventurous palate and experimentation with flavours and techniques limited only by ones imagination.

Happy Birthday Emily xox

2 Responses to “Baking Is A Piece Of (Birthday) Cake”

  1. sanjapanja December 6, 2010 at 3:40 am #

    Really beautiful cake!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Emily’s Pavlovas « gourmetician - March 2, 2011

    […] Mar My talented cousin Emily (who made her own birthday cake last year) came over tonight to surprise us with mouth watering, individual pavlovas topped with juicy fresh […]

Comments are closed.

