Organic Home Delivery

6 Dec

I ordered groceries online for the first time from Doorstep Organics and received 2 cardboard boxes filled with fresh fruit and veggies, handmade muesli by Plum Foods (which by the way is the best muesli I’ve ever tasted) and dark chocolate coated certified organic almonds. The fruit was full of flavour and perfect with the muesli and natural yoghurt for breakfast.

The organic avocado was firm, creamy and scrumptious spread on toast, topped with the organic tomato, dressed with olive oil and seasoned with salt and black pepper. The organic zucchini made it’s way into a simple pasta sauce using organic onion, garlic, salt and homemade Italian passata di pomodoro (pure tomato puree).

I also received a cold box of Pastabilities delicious ravioli filled with Leg Lamb with Tomato, Garlic and Rosemary; and Butternut Pumpkin, Goats’ Cheese and Fresh Sage. The pumpkin ravioli was delicious tossed with butter, parmesan and black pepper and I am yet to try the lamb ravioli.

I wanted to enjoy the broccoli without losing it’s natural flavour, so I lightly browned some fresh garlic, whole raw almonds, chilli flakes, mustard seeds, cumin seeds and turmeric powder and tossed through the broccoli, squeezed over some lemon juice and sprinkled a pinch of salt.

The broccoli was still crunchy and vibrant green.

I also used the organic eggplant to make a curry with chickpeas and my family and I ate this with boiled basmati rice and natural yoghurt. It was a tasty, light, healthy and satisfying vegetarian meal.

Doorstep Organics send me regular e-newsletters, updates and specials and they also text me each week to see if I need to place an order in time for delivery to my area. The fruit and veggies lasted extremely well wrapped in the plastic bags, stored in the cardboard boxes and kept in the fridge and the lady who delivered the groceries was friendly too! The cold boxes can be returned to the courier on your next delivery in exchange for a credit to your account with Doorstep Organics so it’s great to see that they encourage recycling as well.

