Hi My Name Is Jessica And When I Can’t Sleep, I Write About Food, Cook Or All Of The Above

9 Dec

I got home at 11.30pm last night after watching Narnia in 3D at Fox Studios with my mum, sister Priscilla and her friend Valerie. Of course I couldn’t go to bed at a regular hour because most of my creativity seems to happen between 12am – 4am. So what did I do? I started cooking!

Chicken Curry

2 large potatoes peeled and cut into chunks

1kg organic, free range chicken drumsticks skinned

1 large brown onion diced

4 cloves garlic diced

3cm cube ginger grated

1 large green chilli split lengthways

2 heaped teaspoons cumin powder

2 heaped teaspoons coriander powder

1 heaped teaspoon turmeric powder

salt to taste

50ml coconut cream

squeeze of half a lemon

2 tablespoons ghee

Fry the onions in ghee until golden brown, add the garlic and ginger and continue to brown. Add the chilli and powders and fry until aromatic. Add a touch of water to lift the spices from the bottom of the pan and add the chicken, potatoes, salt, coconut cream and lemon juice. Add a touch more water if needed but bear in mind that liquid will be extracted from the chicken and potatoes. Simmer until the chicken is cooked through and the potatoes are fork tender.

Tomato Rice

3 cups washed basmati rice

1 cinnamon stick

4 whole cloves

4 whole cardamoms

1 teaspoon turmeric

1 can whole tomatoes

2 heaped tablespoons tomato paste

salt to taste

1 large brown onion diced

3 cloves of garlic diced

3cm cube ginger grated

1 large green chilli split lengthways

2 tablespoons ghee

warm water

Fry the onion in ghee until golden brown, add garlic and ginger and continue to brown. Add chilli and turmeric and fry until aromatic. Add whole spices, some water, the rice salt, tomato paste and tin tomatoes. Stir well and add just enough water to cover the rice. Leave on a low heat with the lid on and stir occasionally. Add small amounts of extra water as needed until the rice is just cooked.

I restrained myself from indulging in a 2am binge when I finished cooking and had this for lunch today, although I did ‘test’ some of the tomato rice while I was cooking just to be sure it was perfect!


2 Responses to “Hi My Name Is Jessica And When I Can’t Sleep, I Write About Food, Cook Or All Of The Above”

  1. Marla December 9, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    Well, that’s certainly a productive thing to do with insomnia. I just search blogs about food. 🙂 It looks like your recipes are great! How did you like the new Narnia movie?

    • Jessica Fernandez December 9, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

      Thanks Marla 🙂 The movie was spectacular. The visual effects these days are mind blowing or maybe I just don’t get out enough because I’m too busy cooking or writing…. Any interesting food blogs you’ve come across lately?

Comments are closed.

