Fresh Yoghurt Recipe

15 Dec

I was friends with a Macedonian girl during the early days of high school and I used to go to her house occasionally after school. Her grandmother lived with the family and I remember trying foods I’d never had before, but one recipe has stayed with me until this day. I’ve never written this recipe down, I’ve just stored it in my food memory archive and revived it following overwhelming requests by my mum 🙂

This recipe is for fresh yoghurt and it requires little attention for maximum rewards. All you need is 1 litre of full cream cow’s milk and 1 tablespoon of natural European style yoghurt.

Pour the milk into a saucepan and bring to the boil.

Remove from the heat immediately once the milk starts to boil.

Set aside to cool and keep testing the temperature with a clean finger. Once the milk is just cool enough to leave your finger in for a few seconds, stir in the yoghurt, put the lid on the saucepan and wrap it in a thick towel. Leave the swaddled saucepan in a warm place (such as the kitchen bench) overnight or for at least 12 hours. The European yoghurt will turn the milk into fresh, creamy, natural yoghurt.

Easy hey?!

You can use the yoghurt just as you would any other yoghurt. Mix it with your favourite fruit, add to smoothies, spoon over muesli, add ingredients to make a dip, serve with Indian dishes, make yoghurt drinks, the options are endless!

3 Responses to “Fresh Yoghurt Recipe”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lassi Recipe « gourmetician - December 15, 2010

    […] had my fresh, homemade yoghurt and buttermilk left over so I filled a large cup 1/3 of the way with natural yoghurt and topped it up with fresh buttermilk while stirring until it reached a liquid, drinkable […]

  2. Pumpkin & Sweet Potato Stack, Broad Bean Fritters and Yoghurt Dressing « gourmetician - February 19, 2011

    […] 1/2 a cup of natural yoghurt (I used my homemade yoghurt) […]

  3. Spinach & Chickpeas with Yoghurt, Tahini, Garlic and Lemon Dressing « gourmetician - February 24, 2011

    […] 1/2 a cup of natural yoghurt (I used my homemade yoghurt) […]

Comments are closed.

