Lassi Recipe

15 Dec

My dad used to make us lassi for our family in summertime; it’s healthy, refreshing, cooling and easy to make. Dad mixes thick natural yoghurt with water, ice and sugar or salt for the savoury version. I had my fresh, homemade yoghurt and buttermilk left over so I filled a large cup 1/3 of the way with natural yoghurt and topped it up with fresh buttermilk while stirring until it reached a liquid, drinkable consistency. I added lots of ice just like dad used to do, and the heart shaped ice cubes made all the difference too.

I sprinkled crushed pistachio and dried rose petals on top.

I like the pure, natural flavour of my homemade yoghurt and buttermilk but you can add sugar, salt, rose water, pureed mango, strawberry pulp, finely chopped mint, spices such as turmeric, saffron or anything else you like. Experiment. There’s only one way to find out how it will taste 🙂

Turkey, Iran, Afganistan and Armenia also serve similar drinks made with yoghurt and water.

One Response to “Lassi Recipe”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Getting Buttered Up « gourmetician - March 4, 2012

    […] buttermilk can be used in Lassi, pancakes, curries and more. I remember having buttermilk as an accompaniment to curries instead of […]

Comments are closed.

