Adrian Richardson’s Ricotta Gnocchi With My Mushroom And Cream Sauce

6 Jan

After speaking with Adrian earlier this week, I was craving the ricotta gnocchi he told me about and cooked some up for dinner tonight. I’m amazed at how quick and easy it was to make the gnocchi from start to finish and they tasted sensational, which is no surprise.

Click here for Adrian’s recipe.

I started with the following ingredients:

500g  fresh ricotta (cold)

100g  freshly grated parmesan

1 egg beaten

60g  plain flour (sifted)

A few garlic chives freshly picked from the garden

Place the ricotta in a large bowl and mash using a fork. Add the parmesan, egg and plain flour (chives are optional) and mix well until the ingredients come together like a soft dough.

Take a handful of mixture, squeeze it together and on a hard surface, roll it out into a log with the diameter of a 10 cent piece. Cut the log into 2cm pieces and repeat the rolling and cutting process until all the mixture has been used.

Put the ricotta gnocchi into boiling salted water and remove with a slotted spoon as soon as they float to the surface and gently drain.

I made a mushroom and cream sauce to go with the ricotta gnocchi by frying peeled and sliced mushrooms in butter and olive oil until brown. I then added 2 cloves of diced garlic, fried until golden brown and added a generous pinch of freshly ground black peppercorns. I removed the fry pan from the heat and stirred through enough pure cream to make a sauce.

I served the ricotta gnocchi topped with the mushroom and cream sauce, drizzle with a touch of black truffle oil and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. Heaven on a plate! The gnocchi are as light as a cloud but don’t let that deceive you – they are still filling. Personally I found the dish to be well seasoned due to the parmesan but feel free to add salt to suit your taste.

Mum didn’t feel like cream sauce so I made a tomato sauce for her with mushrooms, basil and chilli and that was delish too.

Adrian’s ricotta gnocchi recipe will be in his new cookbook due out in March 2011 – The Good Life. I can’t wait to see what other tasty treats he has in store.

