The Grower, The Baker & The Fresh Juice Maker

8 Mar

I’ve been wanting to visit Sydney Markets for a while now, so when the cat started squawking at 1am to be let outside and I couldn’t get back to sleep, I decided to make the most of my early rise.

When I arrived at Flemington at 6am, the car park was buzzing with trucks and a dodgem car would have been a creative way to compete with the darting forklifts.

I wandered around the isles and came across some gorgeous heirloom carrots which Sam grows on a farm in Horsley Park.

Purple, yellow, white and orange carrots were piled up next to watermelon radishes and the black radishes were so popular that they had sold out!

I also picked up some of Sam’s beetroots and a variety called ‘target beetroot’ that have rings on the inside.

Two men were checking out the carrots and offered some friendly advice when they overheard my conversation with Sam. I was told it’s best to slice and eat the target beetroot fresh to retain the ring pattern because the colour runs when they’re cooked and they end up looking like a regular beetroot. It turns out they were from Justin North’s restaurant ‘Etch‘. I couldn’t have hoped for a better tip!

You can find Sam at Grima’s Farm Fresh Produce, stand 71, door 2, D shed.

Loaded up with my fresh veggies and on my way back to the car, I couldn’t resist taking home a box of Joe’s size 23 figs. Some growers sell only by the box and others will sell smaller quantities; you just have to ask around.

You can visit Joe at Joe Mirarchi & Son, stand 14 – 15, market A.

It was well worth my effort going to Sydney Market for the variety, freshness, value for money and friendly, passionate service. I love hearing the stories behind the produce and I can feel the energy, heart and soul that’s gone into the entire process. It’s about the whole experience for me and it just can’t be compared to a trip to the supermarket or even the local green grocer.

Driving home, my mind was racing with recipe ideas like the peak hour traffic I was in and my tummy was loudly commanding my attention. So I stopped at Sonoma in Glebe for some breakfast creation inspiration.

Walnut and raisin sourdough sounded like a perfect match for my juicy figs and I had to muster all my self control to get the loaf home in one piece.

This is one of my favourite pieces of art called ‘FIGure-d it out’ by Tanya Loviz and I can see why figs are so inspiring to Tanya with their opulent purple hues and pistachio green stems.

I topped the Sonoma walnut and raisin sourdough with fresh ricotta, rocket, Joe’s figs and The Little General extra virgin olive oil. Heaven!

Now for fresh juice using Sam’s beetroots and carrots.

1 large beetroot

1 medium orange carrot

1 apple

1 large stick of celery (no leaves)

2cm piece of ginger

I sliced everything and passed it through my Compact juicer.

Full of energy, I enjoyed some yoga in the sun and practiced my daily gratitude by thanking the cat for waking me up.

Sydney Markets

www.sydneymarkets.com.au


Sonoma

www.sonoma.com.au

Sonoma Bakery Cafe Glebe

215a Glebe Point Rd
Glebe NSW 2037
P 02 9660 2116

Sonoma Baking Company

32-44 Birmingham St
Alexandria NSW 2015

P 02 9690 2060 / 02 8362 1800

E info@sonoma.com.au

Sonoma Bakery Cafe Waterloo

2/9 Dank St
Waterloo NSW 2017
P 02 9699 1920

Sonoma Bakery Cafe Paddington

241 Glenmore Rd
Padddington NSW 2021
P 02 9331 3601


4 Responses to “The Grower, The Baker & The Fresh Juice Maker”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ladies Who Lunch « gourmetician - March 9, 2011

    […] My mum’s friend came to visit today and I prepared a pretty lunch and decadent dessert to make it special for the ladies. I used the heirloom carrots, beetroots and figs that I picked up at Sydney Markets on Monday and shared in my post ‘The Grower, The Baker & The Fresh Juice Maker‘. […]

  2. Heirloom Carrot & Bacon Quiche with Potato & Parmesan Crust « gourmetician - March 10, 2011

    […] Mar Here’s one of my creations using the heirloom carrots I picked up at Sydney Market’s on […]

  3. It’s Fig Season! « gourmetician - April 1, 2012

    […] – it’s fig season! If you’ve been following my blog then you’ll remember my trip to the markets last year that lead me to a tray of figs. To me, they truly are a fruit of the gods with their […]

  4. My Chocolate Mousse Wins in the Armonia International Olive Oil Competition « gourmetician - December 8, 2012

    […] Little General which I have posted about before (when ever I bump into Nadia we end up talking about the Festa Delle Salsicce in Griffith, yum!) […]

Comments are closed.

