Coconut Flour Pancake Recipe

22 Jan

I’ve successfully cooked with coconut sugar and found it to have a flavour that can’t be compared to refined white sugar or even brown or raw sugar. It has a caramelised, mineral taste that I love because I prefer savoury over sweet. I often add a pinch of salt to cakes, muesli and pancakes and reduce the sugar or substitute it for honey or coconut sugar where possible.

So I bought some coconut flour out of curiosity. The first thing I noticed when I opened the packet was the beautiful strong aroma. I put a little in my mouth and it immediately soaked up all the moisture where it touched my tongue and the roof of my mouth. I realised that what I’d read about coconut flour needing a lot more liquid than wheat flour was true. I came across several pancake recipes online and on the back of the coconut flour packet but this one was the simplest and I modified it to suit my taste.

4 eggs, room temperature

1 cup of organic full cream cow’s milk

1 heaped teaspoon of coconut sugar

1/2 cup coconut flour

1 teaspoon bi carb soda

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Butter for frying and some to serve

Fresh blueberries

Honey

Crack the eggs into a large bowl and whisk until light and frothy. Add the coconut sugar (it’s a good idea to sift it because it tends to become clumpy) and milk and whisk together. Put the coconut flour, bi carb soda and sea salt in a bowl and mix well esuring all lumps have been broken up.

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the liquid while whisking. Once completely combined (make sure you scrape the sides of the bowl) leave the mixture to sit for a few minutes so the coconut flour can absorb some of the liquid.Heat a fry pan and add some butter.

Spoon in enough mixture to make a thick small pancake (like a pikelet). I managed to fit 3 at a time in my fry pan. Leave the mixture long enough to set so you can flip the pancake. My first one broke up because I wasn’t used to the texture but then I got a feel for how long it took to cook. They also browned quickly because coconut is very oily but I just turned the pan down as needed so they could stay on the heat long enough to cook through. 

Top the hot pancakes with butter (I made a fresh batch again last weekend), blueberries and a drizzle of honey or serve them however you prefer. They weren’t too sweet so would be perfect with some crispy bacon, coconut and chocolate butter or homemade jam.

2 Responses to “Coconut Flour Pancake Recipe”

  1. Johanna February 25, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Hi Jessica,
    Lovely blog, and great pics of the pancakes. I haven’t been game enough to buy coconut flour as yet but you have given me motivation….thankyou! Keep blogging and writing! Way to go,
    Johanna.

    • Gourmetician February 26, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      Thanks Johanna. I love the posts on your blog about France and cooking classes.

Comments are closed.

