Fig and Hazelnut Salad with Vincotto

2 Apr

I’ve been shopping for fresh produce this weekend so I was due to start cooking! Considering how fresh the figs were I decided to let them shine through with minimal fuss. This simple salad was the perfect accompaniment to lamb cutlets that were tossed in EVOO, salt, lemon juice and a diced clove of garlic before being panfried until crispy and brown on both sides while still juicy in the centre.

Fresh figs

Green leafy mix (I used rocket and spinach)

Rosted hazelnuts

Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)

Vincotto

Salt

To make the salad, put the leaves in a large bowl, drizzle with EVOO and vincotto (just enough to lightly coat the leaves, you can add more if it’s not enough) and a pinch of salt. Gently toss with your finger tips to spread the dressing and place it in the middle of a plate. Cut the fig into 4 segments and place over the leaves and sprinkle with hazelnuts.  Just use your instinct to make it to your taste. More fig, less hazelnuts, it’s up to you. Drizzle the salad with a little more EVOO to serve.

The potatoes I picked up at Eveleigh Markets were like little golden nuggets.

I put them in a pot of water, brought it to the boil and simmered for about 5 minutes before draining. I sliced them in half and put them in a baking tray with rosemary I picked from the garden, salt, EVOO and whole peeled cloves of garlic. They roasted at 200ºc for about 1 hour but you may need to remove the garlic earlier so it doesn’t get too brown and taste bitter.

This was the perfect dinner to end a beautiful weekend.

3 Responses to “Fig and Hazelnut Salad with Vincotto”

  1. Karen April 2, 2012 at 5:39 am #

    What a wonderful sounding meal. I can’t wait until fresh figs are in our market.

    • Gourmetician April 2, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

      Thanks Karen. I had a look at your blog and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the freestanding bathtub!

      • Karen April 2, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

        Thank you so much…I’m glad you stopped by.

Comments are closed.

