Have You Seen My Chia Seeds?

29 Apr

When I first saw this video I couldn’t breathe because I was laughing so hard and today I had flash backs! I was searching through the cupboards for my chia seeds and was so frustrated that they were nowhere to be seen until I thought of the scenes in this video.

Of course the packet has just fallen to the back of the cupboard… so I continued to make a late Sunday breakfast with quinoa and chia seeds. I can hardly write the words chia seeds now without bursting into laughter!!!

1 cup of White Quinoa, uncooked

3 cups of Water

1 teaspoon of Coconut Sugar

1 teaspoon of Virgin Coconut Oil

1 teaspoon of Chia Seeds

Sprinkle of Himalayan Pink Salt

Sprinkle of Cinnamon Powder

Organic Milk

6 Whole Hazelnuts, roasted

Put the quinoa and water into a saucepan and bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 15 minutes with the lid on. Strain any excess liquid. Transfer about 4 heaped tablespoons of cooked quinoa to a breakfast bowl and mix in the salt, sugar, coconut oil, chia seeds, cinnamon and hazelnuts. Now add enough milk to suit your taste depending on whether you want a thick porridge like consistency or runnier.

I made up this recipe as I went along so you can simply adapt it to your taste. Try dried or poached fruit, slivered almonds, honey, shredded coconut, cocoa powder or nibs or freshly sliced banana – not necessarily all together!

I have a chia plant growing in the backyard and I’m looking forward to experimenting with more recipes soon.

Considering how much of my life revolves around passion for food, most people would be surprised to learn that I have a habit of skipping breakfast even when I wake up before dawn to do yoga. So I made a promise to myself last week that I would try to get back into a good routine. I used to make fresh juice every morning or have something healthy to start the day so I’ve taken on the challenge to get back to eating breakfast.

Anyway, I’m going to put some eyeshadow on my 3rd eye so until the next post… watch this and laugh.

One Response to “Have You Seen My Chia Seeds?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chia Seed Breakfast Pudding « gourmetician - January 13, 2013

    […] and organic natural yoghurt soaking in the fridge for my next recipe so until then, here’s an old post that makes me […]

Comments are closed.

