Coconut Smoothie

4 Aug

I’ve been on a detox for the past week and I have to say I’m feeling amazing. The first few days left me feeling tired, cranky and overly emotional but that has lifted.

I’ve eliminated alcohol, white rice and bread, potato, red meat, cow dairy, sugar, caffeine and mushrooms. I don’t drink coffee, black or green tea so that has been easy to avoid.

My daily diet includes brown rice, green vegetables, avocado, coconut oil, fish, walnuts, tahini, soups, lentils, hot water with lemon, goat’s dairy, the occasional slice of rye bread or egg.

I usually have a colonic irrigation every 6 to 12 months when I feel my body needs a cleanse. After my holiday to France, Italy and New York it was time to be selective about what I put into my body. I can only handle over indulgence for a short period.

I mention coconut regularly on my blog and last night I made a delicious smoothie. It’s so simple.

Break open a young coconut, drain the water and reserve. Scoop out the flesh and put it in the blender until it reaches a fine consistency. Add some of the coconut water and blend. Continue this until you reach the desired consistency.

You can add cinnamon, cardamom, turmeric, green vegetables, parsley or whatever else you like but it really is perfect just like this.

On my way for the second colonic!

20120804-141414.jpg

One Response to “Coconut Smoothie”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coconut, Cocoa & Hazelnut Smoothie « gourmetician - August 25, 2012

    […] This is an adapted version of my coconut smoothie […]

Comments are closed.

