Sunday Porridge

5 Aug

The sun was glorious this morning so I made breakfast to eat outside in the garden. This gave me energy for a jog around Centennial Park in preparation for City 2 Surf next Sunday!

1 cup of oats
1 pear peeled, cored and diced into cubes
Water
Turmeric powder
Cinnamon powder
Chia seeds
Sesame seeds
Walnuts
Extra virgin coconut oil
Himalayan pink salt

Put the oats in a small saucepan and cover with water. I use my own judgement with this and add more water during cooking if needed. Sprinkle in some turmeric, cinnamon and salt.

Bring to the boil and reduce the heat to a simmer. Add the pear cubes and continue cooking. Stir to make sure it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the saucepan.

When the oats are cooked (I test by tasting it) serve into a bowl, mix through the desired amount of coconut oil (I use 1 teaspoon per serve) while the porridge is hot. Sprinkle with the nuts and seeds to suit your taste.

The pear adds just the right amount of natural sweetness.

20120805-170658.jpg

